JOY TO YOU, TOO

The angel said unto them: “I bring you GOOD TIDINGS OF GREAT JOY, which shall be to all people…”                                                                                                                                                                      (Luke 2:10)

During the days and weeks before Christmas, I’ve invested much time in prayerful thought, just pondering the meaning of some of the words used by those who attempted to describe events relating to the birth of Jesus. Just words. But wonder full words, packed with beauty and power!

Words can be used to convey ideas. And ideas have consequences. While I’ve never attempted to tell people what to think, I have tried to encourage them to think. Some ideas or words are worth the effort to explore, even if we’ll never be able fully to define or confine them. At best, we may be able to see the glory of the Lord, like someone standing on a seashore gazing at a beautiful sunset on the horizon. “Glory” and “Joy” are two of those words, or ideas, which have caused me to look more carefully at the Nativity.

Luke’s account of that eternal event says the angel announced the “Good News’ and adds an adjective. Not just “joy.” He speaks of GREAT Joy.

I don’t know all it means. I’m certain I do not fully grasp it, so I know I cannot explain the meaning. But I also know this: No one ever sees anything unless their eyes and minds are open. No one ever understands anything without thinking. . . at least honestly thinking!

So, I found myself pondering the wonder of the simple word “Joy.” Feeling that the Bible is God’s word, every word has weight to me. If He truly says something, I feel compelled to pay attention and try to understand it’s importance.

What is JOY?

(As you ponder that question, my prayer is that you understand the entrance of Christ into human history can bring joy to you, too. That should add enormous extra meaning to Christmas and all your coming new years! )

God’s son and servant, your friend and fellow student                                                                                                                      ~donkimrey

One response to “JOY TO YOU, TOO

  1. The Scripture that came to my mind was Psalms 16:11, which says, “Thou wilt show me the path of life: in thy presence is fullness of joy; at thy right hand there are pleasures for evermore. After studying this Scripture, I found that in His presence, “There is fullness of joy”, or Perfect Happiness! What could be better than experiencing perfect happiness?

    God bless.

Leave a Reply

