HOW EXTRAORDINARILY ORDINARY!

JUST A THOUGHT: Christ doesn’t expect us to ascend to His level. He descends to ours.

“He came unto His own, and His own received Him not. But as many as received Him to them gave He power to become Sons of God.” John 1:11

“He made Himself of no reputation and was found in fashion as a man. He humbled Himself and became obedient unto death. . . even the death of the cross!” Philippians 2:8

If these accounts of the Lord Christ’s entrance to history say anything, they speak of the incredible humility and humanity of Jesus. It shows how low He will go to love the least among us. He does not place Himself above us. In coming as He did, He has forever identified with the poorest, the lowest, the least important, least accomplished, most sinful among us. From the outset he was identified as a “friend of publicans and sinners.” And “common people heard Him gladly.” Even little children commanded his caring attention. For those reasons, none can ever claim: “He does not understand. He does not care.”

Look, for example, at the people who were selected to “star” in the greatest drama in history. Consider those who were trusted to share the message with the world, and the time, place and drab circumstances in which the drama was cast. For the most part, the characters were unwashed, unshaven, unkempt, unknown, uneducated shepherds, carpenters, an unsophisticated, frightened teenage Jewish girl and a beleaguered anonymous innkeeper on the ancient edge of nowhere.

What could possibly be less impressive?

Notice how ordinary all this is. Ordinary people ordinary times (in those days…just like today), unexpectedly, suddenly Eternity intersected time. Extraordinary is a classic understatement!

Understand this, please: We are not required to master mind-boggling mysteries, or acquire understanding of profound thoughts. We do not have to amass a large fortune to offer in exchange for this Gift. We aren’t required to “clean up our act”, or be famous, or anything. The story is so beautifully, profoundly simple: God loved the World so much that He gave His Only Begotten Son. And if we receive that Gift, we also receive forgiveness, purpose for living, and peace in any circumstance.

He’s done the giving. Have we done the receiving?

God’s son and servant, your friend and fellow student

4 responses to “HOW EXTRAORDINARILY ORDINARY!

  1. Hello Don,
    This post was so beautifully written! I’m so glad, that the Lord came to me where I was! The King of kings, and the Lord of lords, looked beyond my faults, and saw my needs. Praise God! Thank you so much for sharing your perspective, on this most magnificent event! God bless you!

  2. Most who drop by this little “study” are aware that I’ve written my first book. If God chooses to use it, I will be blessed and grateful beyond words. One of the greatest encouragements came to me just now from Christy Lockstein, a lady who reviews books on the internet. I was flattered and flabergasted. It’s at: http://christysbookblog.blogspot.com/2010/12/gods-comeback-kids.html

  3. Hello Don,
    First of all, congratulations on the book that you’ve written! I don’t know how that escaped me, but I had no idea you had written a book that had been published. Did you mention it on your blog? Secondly, I read the review, and it was absolutely outstanding. You should be very proud of yourself! However, I’m sure you give all glory and praise to God Almighty, and rightly so. However, don’t forget, you were the vehicle that He used to get this work out. I knew there was something special about your writing, from the very beginning. You have such a simplistic, yet profound way, of expressing yourself via writing. I’m sure your family is proud of you! Is there a particular store that will carry your book? I would definitely like to purchase a copy, so let me know. I will send my sister on a shopping trip. Again, congratulations, and I wish you much success!

    Paulette

  4. Dear Paulette: thanks so much for your continued encouragement. I also appreciate your efforts and pray that you’ll continue. The best advice I can offer anyone is: “Get as close to Christ as you can And STAY there.”

    I haven’t acquired a distributor so far for the book. It’s just me, and I don’t have a big company or a large promotional budget. The books are available through my website: http://www.Godscomebackkids.com. You can visit there and view the table of contents, some sample chapters, contact info, etc. This past week end a friend who administers the site is making some corrections. The ebook will be $ 6.97 and the hard copy will be shipped postpaid via UPS for $21.97. Hope you’ll check out the sample chapters and let me know what you think. I’m really praying that the Lord will help those who may have lost their way or given up hope. Thanks again. Let’s keep in touch. don

Leave a Reply

