THE LONG HAUL

“Wherever you go preach the Gospel.  And when necessary, use words.”                                 ~ St. Francis of Assissi.

After lengthy, careful and prayerful thought, I’ve made a deliberate decision and a commitment which I share with you, here and now, hoping you’ll pray that I’ll be faithful and effective in honoring that decision.

There are many places where intelligent, conscientious and dedicated people are needed for service.  There are many areas which deserve efforts from the brightest and best among us. Serious social issues beg to be addressed.  Biblical and theological issues deserve prayerful, careful thought and devotion.  There is evangelism, apologetics, scientific exploration in so many really challenging and worthwhile fields.  Diseases need to be conquered, pressing social, economic, environmental and other problems need to be addressed.

And on and on I could go.  But somewhere I came to understand that you cannot travel simultaneously in every direction.

Because of my own mistakes and time spent away from my Christian faith, I can understand how someone “messes up” and feels they have no options.  I’ve spent endless hours in “the pit,” blaming and shaming myself and only lately beginning to understand that God never stopped loving me…not even when I tried to stop loving and serving Him.  In my case, I’m an imperfect guy on a journey, but it’s a journey toward hope and home.

I’m in it for the long haul.

Often feeling very unworthy to assume such an assignment, I declare now that is what I plan to do with the rest of my time here letting anyone who will read or listen to what I have to say:

God really does love and forgive us, even when we foolishly forget that.  And He really can and will use us if we let Him do that.

Just one more thing:  There are many self-help, self-improvement books on the market. I try to read a lot and I respect honest scholarship and excellence wherever I encounter it.  For my purposes, though, Scripture will be always be the primary source for my thinking and writing.  Believing it is in a unique sense, Gods’ Word, my feeling is that I’ll thus be a much better, wiser man, and more able to understand and help others who have struggled, are struggling, or someday may have to endure some dark nights of the soul.

God’s son and servant, your friend and fellow student                                         dkGCBK

4 responses to “THE LONG HAUL

  1. just checking. I seem to have misplace my friends’ responses. Leave it to Don!

  2. Well said. I agree – Scripture must be our first and primary source, as it equips us thoroughly to do every good work (which He has called us to do). Your writing and explanation of Gospel truths encourage and edify many, Don. He is definitely using you, because you let Him!

  3. Re: Scripture being The primary source – reminds me of something my pastor once said, “Never trust a voice over a verse.”

    I’m thankful you allow God to use you, Don. Just look at all who are being blessed in the process!

  4. Hello, my friend! The Christian walk is like a race being run. At the beginning of the race, the adrenaline is flowing, but further along, we don’t have as much stamina as we did at the beginning of the race. Yet, we continue on, because our goal is to reach the finish line. Then, we get that second wind, and there is no stopping us! I have seen some of the fastest men and women in the world run in the Olympics, and after preparing for four long years, when it counts the most, they stumble and fall, sometimes not bothering to finish the race, because they are so disappointed that they faltered along the way. I am so glad that you decided to dust yourself off, get back up, and continue in this Christian walk with God. We’ve all been there, and done that. There is a work that has been assigned to your hands, and it is wonderful to see you walking in your calling. So, continue to press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus. I am so grateful for the grace of God, that operates in our lives! If it had not been for the grace of God, where would we be?

Leave a Reply

