PLEASED. . . OR DISPLEASED?

“…the Lord was not pleased with what David had done.”                (II Samuel 11:27)

         I keep reminding myself of what I’m trying to do in this effort.  Sometimes I tend to go chasing rabbits or fireflies.  If I’m serious about this study, that is not the thing to do.  Please be patient with me, help me stay focused on my objective, and keep me on track.

         In studying some of the Biblical characters whom I’ve been calling “God’s Comeback Kids,” the questions which need to be asked seem self evident:  (1.) How or why did they stray or get knocked off course?  (2.) How did they deal with their battles and bruises?  (3.) So what?  What difference does it make?  What can I learn and use today in my own situation?

         This time, a new question is raised: (4.) What were the consequences of the spiritual “detour” they took? And that led me to consider the comment at the top of the page.  To be sure, there were nasty, ugly, hurtful results of King David’s moral collapse. But there were other consequences which, perhaps, had never even entered David’s mind when his temple was pounding with lust, or his heart was perplexed and heavy with guilt because of the mess he’d created.  We know no one sins alone.  Always we involve others in one way or another. What had just taken place between the King and his next door neighbor was not simply a momentary harmless dalliance between two consenting adults.  David and Bathsheba were not the only ones affected by what they did.  There was an unborn child, a kingdom compromised, innocent men murdered (Uriah wasn’t the only one killed in this clumsy, bungled attempt at a cover-up.  Other warriors were killed in David’s attempt to erase any potential for exposure of his adultery.  In spite of his notable achievements and contributions, and his basic decency, his reputation stands stained indelibly for all eternity because he dropped his guard. 

         Like a widening circle when a pebble is dropped into a pond, the repercussions kept spreading, affecting others.

         But perhaps the greatest consequence of David’s sin was that sentence concluding the eleventh chapter of II Samuel which revealed the whole sordid affair. Unless you’re searching for something, you’re apt to overlook something posted so inconspicuously, almost unnoticed.

         “God was not pleased with what David had done.”

         That looks to me like a classic understatement! 

         It has driven me to a conclusion which seems very logical.  In order for such a situation to be resolved, we need to consider all the damage done.  Before a disease can even begin to be healed, a surgeon needs to go into all the deep crevices and get to the base of the problem. It makes no sense to paint with bright, tacky colors over rotten, termite-riddled timber. 

         Once I heard someone observe: “Nothing is ever settled until it is settled right.  And nothing is ever settled right until it is settled with God.” 

         David had hurt a lot of people badly.  Nothing though, strikes me as foreboding as that haunting comment: “God was not pleased with what David had done.”

         I have no way of knowing how that affects you.  For my part, and as I’ve weighed every word of that singular idea for days, it seems the only proper response for me is to pray: “Search me, O God, and know my heart; try me, and know my thoughts. And see if there be any wicked way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.”  (Psalm 139:23-24 21st Century KJV)*                                     

            God’s son and servant, your friend and fellow student, donkimrey 

(The problem I’ve been considering was God’s quiet, reserved reaction. Before David can even think about going forward spiritually, that has to be considered.  While the sins I’ve committed may not be the same as those of King David, they are sin, nevertheless.  And that is something God always takes seriously.  He loves us, surely.  But He also has standards for us and plans.  When we disregard His presence and His role and plans in our lives, that always displeases Him.) 



2 responses to “PLEASED. . . OR DISPLEASED?

  1. To quote Spurgeon, “God never allows His children to sin successfully.” There’s always consequence(s) to sin, and like the ripple-pond affect you mentioned, David’s family would feel the burden of his sin for many years. To think that my family could inherit years from now the consequences of my sin today is a very sobering thought.

    An excellent study Don as always.

    Thank you.

  2. In order for someone to recover spiritual direction and equilibrium, you have to consider the impact of “sin.” The greatest harm it causes is that God, who created and loves us is displeased that we act against His will and harm ourselves and others. He is never pleased when that happens. Before our relationship with Him can be repaired or improved and growing, we simply MUST consider His view of our actions.

Leave a Reply

