PLEASE BE PATIENT

          I’M READING, THINKING, PRAYING, AND TRYING TO DIGEST A LOT OF MATERIAL.  THAT TAKES TIME, AS YOU KNOW, AND AS I SAID BEFORE:  “I DON’T WANT TO SERVE YOU A ‘HALF-BAKED CAKE.'”

                  My reading is concentrated in the book of Exodus, and my focus is on Moses, one whom I consider to be one of “God’s Comeback Kids.”  The story of his life covers quite an expanse of information.  As I’ve been doing, I’m trying to find answers to some questions:

1.  How did Moses get into the bad situation?  Who was responsible?

2.  Did he have any options before he took the law into his own hands?  Without much hesitation, he became the soldier’s captor, judge, jury and executioner.  Could he have done anything differently?  Can you imagine yourself in his position as his sense of justice was outraged, his anger boiled over and impulsively he wrung the life out of an official representative of the Egyptian government.  He’d murdered an Egyptian soldier.  In explosive anger, in broad daylight, in front of witnesses!  There’s no mystery to solve here.  No question of “whodunnit?”  He’s clearly the main and only suspect in the slaying, so there’s not even a need for forensic science or a criminal investigation. Fully aware of what he’d done, and probably also aware of the swiftness and harshness of Egyptian justice, Moses ran like a scalded dog.  He got as far away as fast as he could from the scene of the crime.

3.  How did he deal with difficulties while  he was in self-imposed exile?  Literally, “on the lam” from the law.  

4.  What were the defining moments in his life.  What prompted his attempt at a “comeback?”

You know I invite and urge you to participate in this study.  I assume you don’t want to be “spoon-fed” and thus deprive yourself of the excitement of personal discovery.  Use your mind.  Your imagination.  Try to place yourself in the situation.

5.  Are there any things you can learn about dealing with your own problems and opportunities now?  What is your “take” on his life and these event?

I’m also hoping (and waiting) for your thoughts on what YOU “LIKE” about the Carpenter from Nazareth.

His servant, your friend and fellow student~donkimrey

BY THE WAY, I take what you say seriously and honestly feel some of you are far better “teachers” than I am.  I expect more are going to post comments on “Why I LIKE Jesus and the questions about Moses.  I just received a note from Mary Ellen Bowman which meant a great deal to me.  I know her and admire her greatly.  She heads up the Christian Women’s Job Corps in Wilmington.  Her entire life is devoted to finding ladies who are in some kind of difficulty or other and helping them.  Really offering a “hand up,” not a hand out.  She helps them find food, shelter, jobs and self-esteem.  If you like praying for folks by name, include her in your prayer duties.  And, if you have “spare change” lying around that needs to be invested in a worthy ministry, I’ll tell you how to get it to them.  Be sure to see her comments and Ebby’s (God bless her.  What an encouragement she is, and we’ve never even met.).

Leave a Reply

