19 HE’S STILL PRAYING FOR YOU

                                    Jesus said:  “Simon, Simon, Satan has desired you that he might sift you like wheat; but,I HAVE PRAYED FOR YOU that your faith fail not.”                                                  Luke 22:31-32 a

  

I’m Still caught up in the idea of Jesus praying for me.  

 

I feel I can be very candid with you and tell you It’s been my good fortune to have faithful, loving friends who continued to pray for me . . .even when I did not pray.  When I felt I had neither the right nor any reason to pray.  First, there was my Mother.  Then my Wife.  And, of course, my daughter and favorite nurse, Kelli.  I knew they hadn’t given up on me and never would.  There were others, and all had a part in my return to Christ.  I owe great gratitude to all of them.

But none of this has had the effect on my mind that it did when I realized (if I placed myself in these stories about Jesus) that HE may be praying for me!  The magnitude of that thought has not yet sunk in, and I’m not sure I can ever fully grasp its significance.  But I’m mulling that piece of knowledge over in my mind and perhaps shall continue to do that until I draw my last breath.  Whom could you ever select with that kind of power, integrity, and influence if you had to choose ONE person to pray for you? Who would ever possibly care so much for you?  Who would have the greatest likelihood of having their prayer heard and answered by God?

In discussing that thought in the last post, the idea seemed to suggest other roles the Lord plays in our lives: Advocate, with which I dealt briefly, seems pretty much to be a legal term.  Intercessor, is another way to deal with the same idea.  While it has religious and political applications, an “Intercessor” is someone who intervenes on behalf of another.  Usually when there’s been a misunderstanding, a failure of communication, or hostilities that cannot be resolved by the usual reasonable, peaceful means.  It may appear that the breach is too wide and too deep to be bridged.  Two parties are estranged, and a third Person intervenes to help settle the situation.  Scripture teaches that Jesus “ever lives to make intercession for us.” 

Yes. US. Even now.

In a mystery which even the most brilliant minds cannot fully understand or explain, the Bible teaches clearly, consistently, that by His life, death, words and work, Jesus is able to reach out to God and then to us and bring us safely together and have a broken relationship restored. 

Mediator is a word that is very closely similar to “Intercessor.”  The Bible teaches there is “one Mediator between God and man, the man Christ Jesus . . .”

If you want to pursue the idea further and find the subtle distinctions between the titles, it would certainly be worth your while and would take more time than we’ll take now.  Here’s where your own mind, your concordance, dictionary, Bible dictionary and perhaps another translations’ points of view will prove invaluable in your own studies.  I’ll look forward to what you discover and share.

The truth I’d like to have you grasp is the idea that, perhaps even in your deepest difficulties or your darkest hours, Jesus could be speaking your name to His Father in Heaven.  When you’re “sifted.”  When you’re tempted.  When you have no idea how you’ll deal with a trial that has just ambushed you from out of nowhere.  Now think about it.  Really THINK about it.  Would that give you some courage, renewed strength and hope in your hour of trial?  

May I suggest that you stop, just now.  Take a deep breath and think more deeply and prayerfully about the idea:  JESUS.  PRAYING.  FOR ME!

Would it bring some light to dispel the darkness of doubt or fear?

Jesus is our Savior, to be certain.  But He is so much more!  It is true that He died for us.  Rose again.  And will return.  But He remains our “Friend who sticks closer than a brother.”  He continues to care for us.  With everything that is going on in the universe, the Bible keeps reminding us of that important fact.

When I was a young Christian, I used to hear an evangelist on the radio on Saturday mornings.  He would go hard at it, exhorting, admonishing, encouraging for a full thirty minutes, full throttle, and just when you thought he was through and running out of breath and time, he’d always say: “Don’t forget, Beloved.  I’m still praying for you.”

I still remember Dr. J. Harold Loman, and wonder how many people were encouraged by those closing remarks. 

Even more, my heart will always be lifted each time I remember that Jesus prays for me!  

THIS BEFORE I GO:  We’re drawing close to a conclusion of this study.  While I was thinking about my “choice” of people I’d like to think would take time and interest to pray for me, Billy Graham’s name occurred to me.  But, the problem is, he doesn’t even know my name.  Much less what my greatest needs are.  There’s really no contest:  Jesus remains first choice.  If He were to volunteer for that assignment, it seems the next logical question would be:  “What would He request?”

You may be surprised at the answer.  Review the text.  Think about why that might be so important.

A servant, donkimrey 

 

 


 

 

Leave a Reply

