FIRST ASSIGNMENT Psalm 19:14

“LET THE WORDS OF MY MOUTH AND THE MEDITATIONS OF MY HEART BE ACCEPTABLE IN THY SIGHT O LORD, MY STRENGTH AND MY REDEEMER”

Psalm 19:14

So, here goes. I’ve laughed at myself, and it’s o.k. if you chuckle, too. It’s been more difficult for me to get to and from the site than it has been to do the studies. My son, Tim, has been very patient, faithful and helpful. He understands now why I chose not to go with the “Scholar” title he proposed originally. He also said he’d “hang with me” in this effort, so I’m already assured of a class of one.

If you just got here, you might want to check the first couple of postings. In those, I gave (1.) some of the reasons why I chose this as a “platform,” and (2.) methods and materials I employ in my own personal study. (3.) How I plan to conduct the study. Please keep in mind that this is not going to be seminary style course in Biblical Criticism. It is intended in its beginning to be a means of sharing some “discoveries” I’m making in my personal devotional consideration of some selected Scripture passages.

In our first study, I’d like to look at Psalm 19:14. I don’t believe in “proof” texts because anyone can find isolated words to make about any point they want to make. However, I do believe in the power of ideas and concepts. If you have any doubt about that, look for example at the concept Martin discovered in the book of Romans: “The just shall live by faith.” It was just an idea, but when it was examined and really understood it was that simple concept that ignited the Protestant Reformation. John Wesley, years later was influenced by Luther’s conversion. As a consequence you will find Methodist Churches sprinkled about the land. Another thought just occurred to me:

I’m just wrapping up reading of the latest biography of Albert Einstein. If you wonder about the power of an idea or concept, think E = MC2. Then consider, if you can, the impact that theory has had and continues to have on the world in which you live. In preparation for the study, I’d like to ask you to read the assignment and THINK ABOUT IT.

Here are a few questions I asked myself as I mulled it over: 1. What does it mean when the writer says: (1.) Let the words of my mouth…Define the word. It’s very short and simple. But what does it imply? Why does the Psalmist ask that the (2.)words of his mouth” be acceptable in God’s sight? Is what we say that important? Why? What does he mean when he asks that the (3.) “…meditations of my heart…” be acceptable in God’s sight? What is so important about what goes on inside your head? Inside your heart? The Psalmist here says nothing about his deeds. . . just what he says, and what he thinks. What do you make of that? (4.) Define “acceptable” in this context. If perfection is God’s standard, (incidentally, the word for “sin” in Scripture is the same word archers used for “missing the mark.”) can we ever become “acceptable” in God’s sight? How? (5.) Consider “In thy Sight”…What effect does it have on you if you know you’re being observed? Let’s think about that and then talk about it when you’ve had sufficient time to form your opinion. (6.) I didn’t even get into the “Strength and Redeemer” words, but that’s worth even more, deeper meditation. Who is it in whose sight we live and move about? Sometimes that thought would scare living daylights out of me. At other times, when I’ve felt no one knew or cared, it has come as a source of challenge and encouragement.

I’m certain that you noticed this verse is a Prayer. An excellent one, in fact! Just one powerful, beautiful, simple and profound sentence. If you can’t think of the “right words” to say when you pray, say this: LET THE WORDS OF MY MOUTH AND THE MEDITATIONS OF MY HEART BE ACCEPTABLE IN THY SIGHT, O LORD, MY STRENGTH AND MY REDEEMER” Psalm 19:14

One response to “FIRST ASSIGNMENT Psalm 19:14

  1. your first born son

    Dad, i’ve just touched the surface. it is obvious you’ve spent quite a bit of time and thought in this.i will continue to read and may respond from time to time. i am impressed, & expect to be blessed if, before every assignment i prepare my heart with the reverence for God he expects of us. love ya, brad

Leave a Reply

